The Danville Home Builders Expo

This past weekend Piedmont CU presented at the Danville Home Builders Expo held at the Institute for Advanced Learning.   Here’s my takeaway from the event.  Most vendors I spoke with seemed a bit disappointed that the crowds were not as big as usual.   However, I thought the level of traffic was good.  It gave me a chance to greet and speak with almost everyone who walked by.   In our business a good relationship is worth more than dollars.  What’s that old credit union slogan?  “People are worth more than money.”  People may not be in the position to buy right now, but if you establish some relationship with them today, then tomorrow they may become one of your best customers.

I also had the chance to meet and speak with several vendors.  There was Steve from Summertime Pool & Spa, David & David from Culligan Water, Karen from Pine Hall Brick, Brad from Security Zone, Liz of Danville Parks & Rec, Durdana from Durdana.com, and the guy from Sound Solutions (sorry I don’t recall your name!).  But the most interesting of the vendors was right next to me.  Piedmont Credit Union was beside Saunders Building Supply.  Saunders is the oldest and sole surviving family owned building supply shop in Danville.  They pride themselves on customer service, flexibility, and going the extra mile for people.  (Sounds a little like Piedmont CU.)  On Sunday I had the pleasure of meeting their owner, Elsie Stanley.  I had heard her described as “tough as nails”, ” a catbird”, and “no nonsense”.  She may be those things in Donald Trump’s board room but here at the expo she was kind as could be and quite the salesperson.  In fact I may be by for some lifetime porch rails or a drain pump for the basement.  She took home my very last back scratcher and a set of Piedmont CU playing cards left over from a previous trade show.   So if you have some building or re-modeling to do check out Saunders Building Supply and say hello to Elsie and the grandkids.

Does anyone know what exactly a “catbird” is?

One Response to The Danville Home Builders Expo

  1. Durdana says:

    “Most vendors I spoke with seemed a bit disappointed that the crowds were not as big as usual. However, I thought the level of traffic was good.” sums it nicely. I felt it was a good opportunity to establish relationships for my company as well as my husband’s Stained Glass company – ArtMushroom (www.artmushroom.com).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

