Playing with Legos

I love Legos! Who doesn’t? Once I made an actual working Transformer(Starscream) out of Legos! This Summer there is a great way to show off your Lego talents and creativity while at the same time supporting a great cause, the Muscular Dystrophy Association. Mandy Matherly is organizing the 2nd Annual Lego Build-Off to be held on August 4, 2007 at The Institute for Advanced Learning and Research from 10:00am to 1:00pm.

The way it works is simple. Each participant builds their lego creation ahead of time and brings it to the Institute on August 4th. The general public then votes, using their money, for the best Lego creation. The masterpiece that brings in the most money is declared the official champion and wins the grand prize. All the proceeds of course will go to the Muscular Dystrophy Association.

Participants must register with Mandy Matherly by phone by August 2, 2007. Rather than post her phone number for the world to see I would be happy to privately put anyone who wants to participate in contact with her.

Mandy’s inspiration to organize this event stems from her friendship with Morgan Hall, a close friend of hers who has Muscular Dystrophy. The story which she tells about her friendship with Morgan is truly inspiring.

Well I happen to be at my mother’s house tonight and I think I will stop typing now and go up in her attic to try and find my old Legos. Lets see if I still have some creativity leftover from my childhood!

3 Responses to Playing with Legos

  1. George says:

    Oh man, I love Legos also. I never made anything sophisticated as a Transformer, but I did make Space Shuttle with a working bay and the 3 rockets. Good times…

  2. Dan Veasey says:

    Good times indeed, few things inspire our imaginations like Legos do.

    I could not find any Legos in the attic without a flashlight. However, I did find a nice collection of GI-Joe toys which might find their way to eBay in the near future.

  3. Killer Transformers

    Transformers info

Leave a Reply

